Try This Thursday-Chicken and Arugala Lasagne!

3 Mar

Ok, first I must start by stating, I did not make my 8 lbs in a week, but I am very proud to announce that I did lose 5 more lbs, 5 more inches and 9% body fat! So that would be a total of 17 lbs, 7 1/2 inches. So I am still improving. Plus, this means I am almost down to the 30s for my BMI, which is fantastic!

Other than my great Aunt Cathy helping me out with workouts, she also gave me this delicious recipe for chicken and arugula lasagna. It makes 8 servings, takes 20 minutes or less of prep time and a cook time of about 50 minutes.

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 lb ground white meat chicken

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

salt, to taste but not too much!

freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1 garlic clove chopped or you can use the kind in a jar already chopped

1 tablespoon dried basil

2 eggs

2 15-ounce containers part skim ricotta

1/2 cup shredded parmesan

nonstick cooking spray

3 1/2 cups (1 big jar and 1 jr jar) prepared mariana sauce

12 cooked lasagna noodles (but we use the no cook kind)

1 bag baby arugula, steamed and drained

1. Preheat oven to 375. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Season the ground chicken with the red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper to taste. Add chicken and garlic to the skillet; cook 5 minutes or until chicken is browned. Remove from heat and set aside.

2. Combine basil, eggs, ricotta and parmesan in a large bowl. Season with salt and black pepper to taste.

3. Mist a 13×9 baking dish with cooking spray. Spread 1/2 cup of marinara sauce over the bottom of the dish. Arrange 4 cooked noodles over the sauce and top with half of the ricotta mixture, half of the chicken mixture and half of the arugala; top with 1 cup marinara. repeat layers, ending with noodles and remaining marinara.

4. Cover and bake 45 minutes. Let lasagna stand 10 minutes.

Nutrition facts per service:

408 calories

33 g protein

33 g carbs

15 g fat (7.5 g saturated)

3 g fiber

Let me just say that this is delicious. I give some credit to my success this week to this dish! It really is a filling dish and super delish with a touch of spice! Let me know what you think of it in my comments section!

4 Responses to “Try This Thursday-Chicken and Arugala Lasagne!”

  1. Crystal D March 3, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Sarah, I just have to put that I’m so proud of you!! Your doing a terriffic job! Keep up the good work! There is also a site called myfitnesspal.com and I’m on there it’s a site that helps you with your calorie intake and all. It’s a really neat site! If you decide to log on there look me up my user name is Someone93. Good luck and I look forward to your success!!

    • Sarah March 3, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks Crystal! I also like loseit.com. That one is good for counting calories too!

  2. Anthony March 3, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Oh, I love lasagna! It looks so good! Just want to share with you another lasagna recipe:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes/main-courses/vegetarian-or-vegan-lasagna
    Enjoy!

    • Sarah March 3, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Yummmm! This sounds delicious as well, Anthony! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

