Cardio Boredom

14 Feb

Does anyone else get terribly bored when they are doing their cardio? Right now I am doing treadmill, bike and the occasional rowing machine, and I get incredibly bored! I don’t feel ready to join any classes at this point, especially if I feel like I am going to lose it after only 15 minutes of what I am doing now! I am trying to work my way to an hour of cardio a day, but I am having the hardest time getting there.

I have tried switching it up and doing 15 minutes on one, 10 minutes on another, 20 more minutes elsewhere, but I just can’t do it. We have a Cardio Cinema at my gym and they show a different movie everyday, but even that doesn’t keep it because all I can do is think “I could enjoy this movie a whole lot more if I didn’t have to keep walking!” or “this movie is so bad, why did I come down here?” I do tend to do better upstairs watching the news as I am walking, but again, I get bored and don’t get much longer than 30 minutes and I am thinking “am I done yet?”

I need some help! Anyone have any thoughts or advice? please post them here.

One Response to “Cardio Boredom”

  1. travelsincooking March 11, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    I know you said that you weren’t ready to join a class, but I would highly recommend Zumba. You burn around 1000 for an hour class, and the best part is that you don’t realize that you are working out. You just dance and have fun, with people of all ages and sizes.

    I also recommend getting some really good workout tunes, because that’s my big motivator in the gym. Make sure to keep your music fresh too.

Leave a Reply

