Here is The Start of a New Beginning

29 Dec

The women in my family like to joke that we have hour-glass figures, fifteen minutes on top, forty-five on the bottom. I am as Queen says, a “Fat Bottom Girl”. I am not bothered so much by my curvy figure as I am bothered by my weight. 

I have been heavy since I was in third grade. It started out as a fifty pound gain in a single year, then has been a gradual climb since. I have finally topped out at just over 400 hundred pounds and am so ashamed I let it get this bad. I used to think that once I hit X pounds I would stop and start losing weight, only I would get to that point and soar over it and not even notice till it was too late and then x would get higher. Now I am to the point not only am I unhealthy, but I FEEL unhealthy along with it. My jeans are getting to the huge sizes, I have no ankles, I feel like I can barely breathe sometimes and I can’t even pick myself up when I fall on the ice (and yes, I know this from recent experience, stupid Midwest winters). 

My goal for the next week is to start a journal to track my workouts and eating habits. I don’t really know how to count calories, but I do have a pretty good idea of what is good and not good for me. I also have my friend Tracy acting as an accountability partner for me. We are going to be going over each others journals and tracking each others workouts and so on. I have a feeling this is going to be interesting since I have never had an accountability partner before or had anyone to kick my butt if I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to. I love the idea now, but I think that might change in the next month or so when I am ready to let stuff slide and she says no. 

I am also in search of a good cleanse. No better way to start a diet than to clean your system out good first. Get all the nasty toxins out of my body so that the good stuff can go in. 

I am also in need of a good workout sound track. Some music to get me moving and to keep me moving for however long I have to walk. The sooner I get started, the sooner I can start feeling better. I am looking forward to the day when I can actually go jogging.

5 Responses to “Here is The Start of a New Beginning”

  1. Naomi December 30, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Your honesty is amazing! Way to take control of your health! I am so proud and excited for you! You will be able to keep up with those Puggles in no time! PS I’m a Weight Watchers employee so if I can ever answer questions about nutrition etc just ask! I lost 36 lbs a few years ago to get rid of my high blood pressure and it was the best thing I ever did! Keep up the great work! Go get em tiger!

    • Sarah January 3, 2011 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks Naomi! I can kind of already keep up with them, but come 8:00, I am done keeping up! So hopefully it will be more sustaining than anything:) But I will probably take you up on that some time (about the advise or questions part). I am so glad to know that I have such an awesome support system and a great group of cheerleaders behind me!

  2. Sarah December 30, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Jess- Thanks! It was something I knew needed to happen and hoping this will help with even more accountability for me. I would LOVE to go walking with you when it gets nicer. I am also planning on walking around the building at lunch at work if you want to join me:)

    Miz- It is going well so far. Been keeping a list of everything I am eating and drinking on this cool little app on my phone that is also counting my caloroes. I just have to nail down exactly how many calories I am supposed to be taking in.

  3. Miz December 30, 2010 at 5:14 am #

    ok Lady
    it’s thursday 🙂
    hows the journal coming along?

    xo

  4. Jessica December 29, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Good luck girl! I don’t have as much to lose but I need to after the baby cus I needed to before the baby – especially with the fibro so maybe we can do some walking (ick!) together but you go girl! Just putting this up and out there takes guts.

Leave a Reply

